A safe place to learn stuff... neat stuff!
 Monday1 pm - 9 pm
Tuesday - Friday10 am - 9 pm
Saturday10 am - 5 pm
Sunday1 pm - 5 pm

More Teen Picks

The Eyes of the King by Catherine Banner

THE EYES OF A KING is a great book. I have never read any thing like
it, and I’ve read a lot of books. It is a fantasy novel about a
parallel word. This book got a little confusing sometimes, because three
stories are being told throughout the book, but at the end it will all
make sense.

Leo, the protagonist, spends his days with his grandma and his little
brother Sterling. Their life is tough, during the war, but is
manageable. One day Leo finds a book in the snow-covered street, and
decides to pick it up. With that decision every thing changes, good
things, and bad things.

This was a great book but it’s not my type. It had a great feeling
of mystery and suspense, but very little action. If it had more action
it would be my favourite.

This is a great book, you should read it because you might like it.

Reviewed by Ashley

Posted 2011-12-27
The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

Over the summer I read this book called The Throne of Fire.  At first I was very sceptical (I thought it might be one of those typical kid doing magic stories).  But as I got into it I realized this guy knows how to capture someone!  It's an awesome book and here is a rough overview of the characters and what happeded.

First of all I will tell you about the characters.  The main characters are siblings named Sadie and Carter, with an uncle mentor that helps them along the way named Amos.  They are teaching some students Jaz and Walt and have a pet ape named Khufu.

The basic plot of this story is that the Kanes -- Sadie and Carter, have to find Ra --the sun God in ancient Egypt because the evil snake God Apophasis has started breaking out of his ancient prison. Before doing that though Kanes must try to eliminate Apophasis' minions that are trying to free him.  Along this quest the kids meet the dwarf God named Bes who took them around the world and finally along the river of night to rebirth Ra.  After many challenges and meeting their dead dad who went on to be god of the underworld - I know right.... awesome?  They finally succeed in putting Apophasis back in prison and then it's a happy ending like every other book.

As I told you it sounds like your typical story.  But it's actually one of those stories that you can get into and then you don't want to put it down.  I'd say this book is geared for more teen audiences although anyone could read it and enjoy it.  When you get into it though it's going to be one of the most epic back and forth books you've ever read!

Reviewed by Tristan

Posted 2011-10-02
The Magician by Michael Scott

The Magician by Michael Scott


The Magician is the second book in the series, it follows The Alchemyst.

I enjoyed the book but should have read them in order to make more sense of the characters. This book is aimed at a little older reader because of the complicated terms.

This book is different from the standard Harry Potter type we are used to. The secrets of the immortal Nicholas Flamel seem to be derived from the Harry Potter books but take you down a whole different path. I think it was well worth my time to read.

Reviewed by Jesse
 

Posted 2011-09-26
Recipe for Distaster by Maureen Fergus

This book is a very good book. For me it was kind of a quick read, but to each their own pace. My favorite part of this book was when, Francie was talking cooking, and when you read these parts, you can feel her excitement, and passion for her love of cooking. My favorite character was the main one, Francie, my second favorite was Francie’s best friend, Holly, and even though Holly was not a main, main character, she was still mentioned in the book qui9te a bit. My least favorite character was Darlene, I found her snobby, and trying to fool everyone that she was a good person, but as it turns out she wasn’t she was kind of fooling Francie, but not as much as other people were fooled by Darlene. I found Francie’s grammas bird, funny and how he was Francie’s biggest fan, besides her grandma. This book is about knowing you dreams and goals, and trying repeatedly to succeed with them. Francie knew what she wanted, and kept on going trying to get it. I would recommend this book to anyone, who likes to read a funny, good story about a 14-year-old girl, who loves to cook. I found this book interest, funny, and I could imagine the whole thing as if it was being played out in front of me. I hope if you are to read this that, you will enjoy Recipe for Disaster, as much as I did.

Reviewed by Kiah

Posted 2011-08-15
Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel

What I liked about this book is that it makes you feel as if you are
part of the world Will, Halt, Alyss, Horace and Evanlyn live in. I would
recommend reading all the other books in the series before starting on
this one, as it is the last one. I like how there are a lot of
witticisms that sometimes you have to think about a bit before you get
it. I love that there are so many jokes at someone’s expense in this
book; it makes it way more exciting and funny. I would recommend this
book to readers from ages 11-14 that like medieval fantasy and have read
and liked Tamora Pierce, Celine Kiernan, Garth Nix, Franny Billingsley
and Laini Taylor.

In the book, Horace goes on a journey to the far of land of Nihon- Ja.
When complications arise and the emperor is toppled from the throne,
Horace feels the need to help him regain his kingdom and rule peacefully
once more. But most of the emperor’s army are no longer loyal to him.
They retreat deep into the mountains, led by the Kikori, peasants that
specialize in woodcutting and building. It is up to Horace to win an
oncoming battle with minor numbers. Will, Halt and the others are
traveling to Nihon-ja to help Horace after Evanlyn received a message.

The main characters: Horace, an Araluen warrior knight, has traveled
to many places in the world, he is dispatched to Nihon-ja to study their
art of sword fighting. He is sympathetic to the emperor and his
situation, he helps the emperor and his last remaining samurai retreat
to the mountain fortress of Ran-Koshi. Will a fully trained ranger now
is in Toscana with Halt to study the Toscan’s battle techniques. They
board a skandian ship bound to Nihon-ja when they find Evanlyn aboard
with a message from George who was also on the Nihon-ja mission with
Horace. Alyss and Evanlyn dislike each other and there is some troubles
brewing with them. Later they make their peace though and go on a
mission together that might turn around fate and avoid an ending they
seem to be doomed with.

This book is highly suspenseful. I really liked reading it!
 

Reviewed by Bronwen

Posted 2011-08-15
The Emporer of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan

What I liked about this book is that it makes you feel as if you are
part of the world Will, Halt, Alyss, Horace and Evanlyn live in. I would
recommend reading all the other books in the series before starting on
this one, as it is the last one. I like how there are a lot of
witticisms that sometimes you have to think about a bit before you get
it. I love that there are so many jokes at someone’s expense in this
book; it makes it way more exciting and funny. I would recommend this
book to readers from ages 11-14 that like medieval fantasy and have read
and liked Tamora Pierce, Celine Kiernan, Garth Nix, Franny Billingsley
and Laini Taylor.

In the book, Horace goes on a journey to the far of land of Nihon- Ja.
When complications arise and the emperor is toppled from the throne,
Horace feels the need to help him regain his kingdom and rule peacefully
once more. But most of the emperor’s army are no longer loyal to him.
They retreat deep into the mountains, led by the Kikori, peasants that
specialize in woodcutting and building. It is up to Horace to win an
oncoming battle with minor numbers. Will, Halt and the others are
traveling to Nihon-ja to help Horace after Evanlyn received a message.

The main characters: Horace, an Araluen warrior knight, has traveled
to many places in the world, he is dispatched to Nihon-ja to study their
art of sword fighting. He is sympathetic to the emperor and his
situation, he helps the emperor and his last remaining samurai retreat
to the mountain fortress of Ran-Koshi. Will a fully trained ranger now
is in Toscana with Halt to study the Toscan’s battle techniques. They
board a skandian ship bound to Nihon-ja when they find Evanlyn aboard
with a message from George who was also on the Nihon-ja mission with
Horace. Alyss and Evanlyn dislike each other and there is some troubles
brewing with them. Later they make their peace though and go on a
mission together that might turn around fate and avoid an ending they
seem to be doomed with.

This book is highly suspenseful. I really liked reading it!
 

Reviewed by Sarah

Posted 2011-08-15
Missing by Becky Citra

The novel, Missing By Becky Citra. Is a novel for people who share a passion for a mystery and for horses. In this novel Thea and her father were always on the move. They could never stay in one town for a very long time. When Thea unearths a decades old mystery, she finally starts to come to terms with the losses in her own life.


This is a story of a girl and her father. Her mother had moved out and was in a deadly car accident. It seemed to the girl thea that her father would not stay in one place for too long because it would start to remind him of her mother. Thea would not make friends in the other towns that they lived in because if she did she would have to move right after so she didnt have time to create any friends. One day a man approached Thea and her father at the cafe and offered thea at a old ranch. After Thea moves in she makes a new friend Van. Thea finds some old guest books from when the ranch was still up and coming and she found out about a murder of Livia Willard. It just so happens that Vans grandfather was accused of murdering the little girl almost 60 years ago. A lady Marion Wilson wanted ever so bad to stay at the ranch evan thought it wasnt open yet. She stayed for quite a long time and when she did she spent her days out on the lake. She seemed like she was looking for someone, Maybe Livia. Meanwhile Thea found a abandoned horse in the back paddock and she started to train him, until her father found out.


If your looking for a good mystery family story this is the book for you. I loved this novel, and i think you will too.

Reviewed by Erin

Posted 2011-08-15
Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

 All of the books in the Pretty Little Liars series are some of the best books I have ever read and I can honestly say that I've never heard a negative comment about these books.

In the Pretty Little Liars series, there's never a dull moment. You are always guessing what's going to happen next, but it's so unpredictable that you will never get it right, which is what makes them so fun.

The have lots of suspense, keeping you on the edge of your seat, not able to put them down. You will never get bored reading Prettly Little Liars dark secrets constantly being revealed, changing everything you thout you knew.

Reviewd by Jill
 

Posted 2011-08-15